30-Day Song Challenge

Mradula Hegde
1 min readNov 25, 2020

--

Day 25 - A song by an artist no longer living

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

Tum itna jo muskura rahe ho

Where do I even begin? The music and entertainment industry has lost far more gems than it has earned. Their craft has enthralled us, given us comfort on sad days, and helped us create special memories.

Jagjit Saab’s voice is a soothing balm to revive our dry souls. His renditions, his mischief, his grief, it all comes etched beautifully in his songs. When he passed away, I felt the physical pain of dealing with loss — something I had never experienced before.

The events in his life had a larger share of tragedy than happiness, but he always carried a cherished smile that hid all his pain behind, much like this song he sang.

Jagjit Saab,
Chitti na koi sandesh,
jaane wo kaunsa desh,
jahan tum chale gaye.

ProTip: Another brilliant artist gone away too soon. Find one of the songs he starred in here.

The 30-Day Song Challenge

For November, I’ve taken up the 30-day song challenge, where I’ll post one song that meets a new prompt each day. Let’s see how far I go in this project.

--

--